The PSF Scholarship Program provides ten one-time grants to PHS graduating seniors. Scholarship categories include traditional degree-granting institutions but also include career training or support. Since 1986, the PSF has invested in the lives of over 120 students. 

The following PSF Scholarships are offered. All are one-time awards and are contingent upon successful (2.5 or higher GPA) completion of one semester of college work, where applicable.

1. The Richard M. Werder Memorial Scholarship was established by Mrs. Valetta Werder to honor the memory of her husband, Richard, and the attributes and values he possessed. The endowment created the first scholarship for the newly formed PSF in 1986.

2. The Bryant A. Weber Memorial Scholarship was established in the will of Mrs. Leone C. Weber to honor the memory of Mr. Weber. Mrs. Weber designated a specific percentage of her estate to the Pettisville School Foundation for the purposes of establishing a scholarship. Mr. Weber was a generous donor to the PSF during his lifetime and the establishment of a scholarship is an appropriate way to remember him.

3. The Golda N. Boyer PTA Scholarship was established through the Pettisville Teacher Association to encourage graduates to consider the teaching profession. 13 recipients are current teachers, including four at PHS. (The PTA awards several scholarships in addition to those by the Foundation.) 

This scholarship was endowed by former PHS business teacher Golda Boyer, who donated a percentage of her earnings from the publication of the “Mean Jeans Manufacturing Company.” “Mean Jeans” was a practice set for general business students created while she a teacher at Pettisville. The practice set was published nationally by Southwestern Publishing and was set in the “mythical town” of Pettisville, Ohio.

4. The Lawrence H. Schroeder Memorial Scholarship was created by Mrs. Herma V. Schroeder in November of 1999 to encourage PHS graduates to further their education. Mr. Schroeder was a member of the Pettisville Board of Education in the 1940’s and was a supporter of the value education had for each individual. Mrs. Schroeder herself was a former teacher, having taught in a one room schoolhouse, then at the “new” Pettisville School in 1932 to 1937 and then again in the 1940’s.

5. The David E. Springer Memorial Scholarship was created by the estate of the former Pettisville superintendent. The scholarship is for a graduating senior pursuing post high school education. Financial need is one criterion for selection.

An Army Veteran of World War II, Mr. Springer served in the 83rd Infantry Division in the European Theater for 381 days. While in combat, he was active in five campaigns, received three decorations, including the Silver Star for gallantry in action, and was battle-field commissioned. He was placed in command of Co. C in the 329th Infantry.

The graduate of Wren High School in Van Wert County earned a B.S. and M.A. from The Ohio State University. Mr. Springer began his career as a teacher in Pettisville, where he served as coach, principal, and superintendent for 19 years. He married Pettisville native Helen Rychener. He also was later an educational supervisor for Fulton County, and counselor and superintendent at Evergreen Schools. Mr. Springer passed away in 2006 at the age of 89.

6. The Ruth K. Wyse Memorial Scholarship was originally called the PSF 30th Anniversary Scholarship has renamed in 2023 in memory of the first PHS teacher.

The scholarship selection considers need as well as non-traditional approaches to post-secondary education which may include, in addition to typical two and four-year programs, apprenticeships and training programs that do not necessarily result in a two or four-year degree.

Ruth K. Wyse was born in 1903 in Pettisville and passed away in 2005 at the age of 102. She was a Pettisville icon, as she taught Latin, French, English, and journalism for 43 years, retiring in 1972. She continued serving her school as in 1986, she became one of nine founding trustees of the Pettisville School Foundation, serving until 1992.

7. The PSF Career Scholarship, first offered in 2021, is intended to benefit the graduate who desires to secure training for an occupation/skill in an area not traditionally supported by institutions of higher education.

The initial scholarship will be in the range of $1,000 and will be awarded annually to a graduating senior who is continuing his/her education by pursuing a trade or career that requires additional (non-college) training beyond high school. This scholarship could support an internship, an apprenticeship, or classes to learn a new skill or trade. This grant will be paid directly to the training entity or reimbursed to the participant.

Candidates with financial need may include that need to support both the award of the scholarship or a request for additional funds. Not subject to GPA requirement.

8. The Pettisville Grain Company Scholarship, first offered in 2021, is designed to benefit a PHS graduate seeking training or college credit in an agriculture related field. The initial scholarship will be $1,250 and will be awarded annually to a graduate with a preference (although not limited to) for students who plan continuing their education by pursuing a two or four year degree in an ag related field or becoming securing skills in an agricultural related field. If there are no applicants in the ag area, this scholarship can be awarded to any applicant as chosen by the scholarship committee.

9. The Grieser Transportation Scholarship first offered in 2021 focuses on individuals desiring training in the diesel mechanical field or individuals who are seeking their CDL (Commercial Drivers’ License). This scholarship is in the amount of $1,000 and will be offered annually.

Grieser Transportation is a family-owned and operated, full-service transportation company that has been around for over forty years. They take pride in meeting customers' needs for time- sensitivity, safety, and reliability and are always looking to expand services! Currently they run nineteen tractors with Conestoga-style flatbed trailers. Primarily operating in the Midwest, Southeast, South Central, East, and Northeast of the United States, they haul a wide range of products from particle board, steel door track, steel tubing, brick, lumber, coils, etc. One of the family owners, Dave Grieser, in 2023 is in his record 34th year as a trustee.

10. The Lieutenant General Jeff Kruse Leadership Award/Scholarship recognizes student leadership and service. The award was first offered in 2023. 

The award was created by Lieutenant General Jeff Kruse and his wife, Dr. Susie Kruse, as their tribute and thank you to Pettisville Schools and the Pettisville community. It is a mark of faith and investment in today's youth that they too, are committed to serving and advancing a greater purpose beyond themselves.

The recipient each year will be a senior who has demonstrated leadership across a range of academic, athletic, church and/or community activities, and is poised to embark on a lifetime of selfless service to the community and world around them.

The award for 2023 is $1,500. This is the first PSF Award to be offered in the form of a scholarship or a cash stipend.